Gratitude Challenge

8. Express Gratitude to 3 People

First off, let me express how much fun I’m having this week. A co-worker of mine has gone on vacation to Portugal for two weeks[that lucky girl!] and asked me to dog-sit for her.

  • Perk 1: Her home is a 20-minute walk to my work.
  • Perk 2: my boyfriend gets to keep my company.
  • Perk 3: Her dog is the happiest dog I’ve ever met
  • Perk 4: It’s close to all the finest coffee shops in Toronto
  • Perk 5: Her cat is the Alpha cat of the neighbourhood and he is the funniest cat ever

Claire – you are the first person I’m showing gratitude to because I’m so grateful for the opportunity you’ve given me.

The second person I want to express gratitude to is my old boss. She was tough but taught me so much. She took me under her wing when I was looking for an internship for school. After I graduated she hired me back to work full-time in the marketing department and now I am part of the radio marketing and promotions team. She ended up carrying on to a different job, but I now report directly to the Vice-President of Promotions for both stations. And he is so easy going, which makes me want to prove to him that he doesn’t need to be on my ass all the time to get my work done. Lisa – you are the second person I am showing gratitude to because if it wasn’t for you, I would still be working retail.

I learned at a young age that you should not have to ever be nervous unless you’ve done something wrong. People used to say “just picture everyone in their underwear.” Well that’s a little hard when you haven’t seen all your classmates in their knickers before… Or maybe just my lack of imagination. However, I was able to teach myself that when you’re prepared, you have no reason to be nervous. You’ll be speaking to people you see every day and telling them everything you learned [a lot easier than I ever imagined.] That being said when I was in grade 6 we had a project to do on Great Explorers. I had a The_landing_of_Vikings_on_America.jpgfascination with Vikings at the time so I got to choose Leif Erikson. Our project was to study these explorers and profile them. After doing the profile you had to dress up as that explorer and talk to the class as if you were the explorer. For ten minutes I was a male Viking who discovered North America centuries before Christopher Columbus ever did… Since presenting that project, not once have I had stage fright – it also gave me the confidence to try out acting and be part of the drama club and, in high school, musical theatre! For this, I need to thank Mrs McQuary. If it was not for that project – God knows where I’d be right now!

 

Stay brave my friends!

Meghan

Leave a Reply

