Coffee Blog

Keeping Organized

When I first started in my field my mind was scattered all the time… However, it did not help that I had a boss that was the same way. She relied on me to keep her organised, but when she jumped from project to project within one sentence it was really hard to keep track… Dealing with a manager like that really teaches you to slow down and keep an organized notebook/bullet journal.

Since then I’m basically a mess without my notebook, but I’ve also learned to keep a tight calendar. Every due date, meeting & reminder go in there (you can imagine how it looks…)

I came up with some tips on how to deal with these types of situations:

  • Analyse the situation
  • Make a step-by-step list and do each task slowly [This way you are less likely to make mistakes]
  • Ask questions or for help. If you’re stuck, never be afraid to double check with someone. Even if you have a difficult boss, you asking questions will show them you’re invested and dedicated to doing a good job.
  • Keep an organised ‘To-Do List’ or bullet notebook. Make it the way you want, add colours and spend time with it to make it work best for you
  • Take a break: Make a coffee or tea and put on some music before doing any project. Calm yourself down and start as soon as you’re ready
  • If you have to, go for a walk. Taking a minute on your own to clear your head will give you space to organize each step it will take to reach your goal
  • If you need to make a call: just do it. You’re the expert here and need information from them.
  • Have a backup plan if something goes wrong – or find a solution to fix the problem

 

Recently I had to cold call a bunch of events in my city for a program my work is doing. Finally, finishing an email that explained our program clearly was very uplifting – especially receiving an email from an event coordinator that seemed thrilled about the opportunity. I did most of the steps above and broke out of my fear of being told “no”.

I think being afraid really pushed me to a limit. I knew I had to fulfil a task, but that devil was sitting on my shoulder telling me I was going to fail… I flicked that little bugger off me and here I am; proud of myself for stepping out of my shell.

Just remember that these little things are just little. If you need a helping hand, please feel free to reach out; I’ll catch you every time 🙂

Until next time,

Meghan C

 

Leave a Reply

